My best friend is my reason.

“True love is finding your soul mate in your best friend.”
—Faye Hall

For some reason many associate the term soul mate with one person forever and always. When talking about a soul mate, some act as though there is only one person in the entire world who is fit for them and they’re meant to be with them and only them forever. I disagree.

A soul mate is someone who loves you unconditionally. Someone who tries to understand even the most confusing aspects of your life. They’re someone who pushes you to be all you can be and doesn’t sugar coat things. The relationship with a soul mate is not two-dimensional. There’s a connection that’s either immediate or formed that words can’t describe but the two people can understand. They bring out the best parts of your personality and show you the light in life. A soul mate is a person who makes an indelible mark on your life.

You may have one soul mate, or you may have 30. I think it depends on how you open your heart up and who you let in. Soul mates are not always romantic partners. Sometimes they’re best friends, sisters, brothers, mothers, fathers, etc.

I’m lucky enough to have had many soul mates already in my young life and to have three who still remain a part of it.

My incredible boyfriend, and two best friends. At some point they’ll each get their own posts but this one is for my best friend Michael.

My best friend and one of my soul mates is someone I have never met in person. Not yet anyway. He lives on the other side of the world from me and I met him via facebook. It’s funny how people meet one another so differently in modern times than 40 years ago.
I met him through a mutual friend and a few facebook comments about the CW’s TV show Supernatural.

tumblr_inline_nnw476bCbF1r08h92_500

At the time I was in a serious relationship that was crumbling. It made matters worse when I became friends with another guy. THE HORROR. GUYS AND GIRLS BEING JUST FRIENDS! I’m just beyond grateful that I didn’t cut him loose because my boyfriend was controlling. We got closer and closer. It was very early on that I revealed to him that my mental health was not stable and that I had a few different problems that I dealt with. Over the course of a couple years those problems have gotten better, and worse, and new problems arose. Michael’s been there through it all.

I’ve talked to him almost every single day for well over 2 years and I couldn’t imagine him not being a part of my daily life. He’s been there through breakups, and fuck buddies. Through my mental breakdowns about school and work and life. He’s been there giving me advice and rooting me on through any situation that came up in my life. He’s one of the first people I tell my good news to. He’s seen my hair as every color in the books. He’s been there through weight gain and weight loss. He’s been there through literally everything. He’s always been supportive of my decisions (as long as they’re rational) and he’s probably my number one fan. As I am his. I couldn’t be more proud of the man he is. I couldn’t be more excited when he’s happy. I couldn’t be more thankful for him.

He’s the definition of the perfect best friend.

He’s my reason. He’s my reason I wake up in the morning. He’s my reason I keep fighting my illness’. He’s the reason I laugh some days. He’s the reason I have hope. He’s the reason I obsess over TV shows. He’s the reason I want to travel. He’s the reason I embrace anxieties as preparation for travelling that far. He’s my reason for most everything.  And he’s the reason my relationship is so successful.

Yes. My best friend is the key to my relationship.

The best thing is that he and my boyfriend get along well. One of the most important things to me was to have my best friend’s approval of the guys I dated. His opinion means a lot to me as he knows me better than anyone else in the world and he is honest and true to me. When he told me he liked and approved of my boyfriend (the first one he has) it’s as if my world fit together finally. And my boyfriend loves that I have a best friend as great as Michael.

Romantic relationships, as intimate and personal as they are, are not always sunshine and butterflies. Being truly in love with someone tests your limits and tests your patience. My boyfriend now is the longest relationship I’ve been in since my ex-fiancé of three years. My experience with him has been a learning and growing as we go kind of thing. It’s been beautiful. There are days though that things are not so beautiful. It’s hard to know how to react sometimes, or to know how to handle some situations. I personally have become better at knowing my own limits and knowing when I need to take time to cool down from a disagreement. Michael’s always there on the other side of the screen when I need help controlling myself in those moments. He’s always there to give me advice or opinions. He gives me another point of view. He’s always willing to hear both ends of stories and form opinions later. And sometimes it’s just helpful to vent to him instead of reacting fast on my boyfriend. Through all the bad he’s also there for the good. He’s there for me to gawk to, for me to tell all the mushy things to, for me to be happy. He’s even given me romantic surprise ideas and suggestions. He’s the friend I send a photo to before I do something to make sure it/I look okay.

I think the universe puts certain people in our lives for a reason, and I’m more than thankful Michael’s in mine.

Since he’s going to read this; Thank you my dear friend, I’m proud of everything have become, and will continue to be. I love you.
tumblr_n5hm3fQwE41rrx588o1_500.gif

As always,

Peace, love and light to my readers.

Leave a Reply

